Some links on this page are Amazon affiliate links. If you buy through them CatBasket may earn a small commission, and the price you pay does not change. Prices move daily; the figures here were checked in September 2026.
SureFlap vs PetSafe: Which Microchip Cat Flap? (UK)
The SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap (about £66 to £70) is the better buy for most UK homes because it reads more microchip types. The PetSafe Microchip Cat Flap (about £65 to £73) stores 40 cats instead of 32 and has a slightly wider opening, but reads 15-digit chips only.
Prices and specs checked 28 September 2026.
SureFlap and PetSafe make the two microchip cat flaps you will find in almost every UK pet shop. Sure Petcare is a Cambridge company, now part of MSD Animal Health. PetSafe belongs to Radio Systems Corporation in the US. Their standard flaps cost about the same, so the choice comes down to which microchips they read, how big the opening is, and whether you want a curfew or an app.
Quick picks
- For most homes, buy the SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap (about £66 to £70). It reads more chip types than the PetSafe and has more add-ons.
- If your cat has a 15-digit chip and needs a slightly wider opening, the PetSafe Microchip Cat Flap (about £65 to £73) fits, and it stores 40 cats instead of 32.
- For a curfew you can set from your phone, get the SureFlap Connect with the Hub (£205 to £225). PetSafe sells no app-connected flap in the UK.
- A Maine Coon or other big cat needs the SureFlap Microchip Pet Door (£120), which also has a timed curfew built in.
- Having one fitted costs about £100 to £190 in a door and from £180 in glass (more for triple glazing or a large flap). Costs by door type.
SureFlap vs PetSafe: spec table
| SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap | SureFlap Connect | SureFlap DualScan | PetSafe Microchip Cat Flap | PetSafe Petporte | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price (Sept 2026) | £65.50 to £70 | £140; £205 to £225 with Hub | £110 | £65 to £72.99 | £138.99 |
| Pets stored | 32 | 32 | 32 | 40 | 25 |
| Chips read | 15-digit FDX-B, most 10-digit FDX-A, 9-digit, Sure collar tag | As standard | As standard | 15-digit FDX-B only | 15-digit UK/EU only |
| Batteries | 4 x AA; "up to 12 months" (product page), "at least 6 months" (manual) | 4 x AA; up to 6 months | 4 x AA | 4 x AA; up to 12 months | Not stated; UK power supply included |
| Opening (W x H) | 142 x 120mm | 142 x 120mm | 142 x 120mm | 150 x 121mm | 160 x 160mm |
| Cut-out in door | 165 x 171mm | 165 x 171mm | As standard | 168 x 175mm | 180 x 171mm |
| Hole in glass | 212mm (adaptor to 260mm) | 212mm | 212mm | 212mm (adaptor to 285mm) | 212mm |
| Tunnel depth | 70mm; 50mm extenders £9 each | 70mm | 70mm | 72mm | Deeper frame (about 159mm) |
| Curfew | No (manual 4-way lock) | Yes, timed, via app | No | No (manual 4-way lock) | Optional night mode |
| Controls who goes out | No, any cat can exit | Yes, per cat | Yes, per cat | No | No |
| App | No | Yes, Hub needed (£78 to £85) | No | No | No |
| Warranty | 3 years | Not stated on product page | 3 years | 3 years (per manual) | Not stated |
Specs from Sure Petcare's UK product pages and official manuals, PetSafe's UK product pages, and Zooplus spec listings. Prices from Amazon UK, Zooplus, Pets at Home and the makers' UK shops, checked 28 September 2026. Sure quotes "up to 12 months" of battery life on its product page and "typically at least 6 months" in its manual, and battery life depends on how busy the flap is.
Do SureFlap and PetSafe read the same microchips?
No: both read the 15-digit FDX-B chips most UK cats now have, but only SureFlap reads most older 10-digit and 9-digit chips, and PetSafe reads 15-digit chips only.
For most people this is the deciding point. Most cats chipped in the UK in recent years have a 15-digit FDX-B chip, and both brands read those. Older cats, imported cats and some rescues can carry a 10-digit chip or one containing letters. PetSafe's flaps do not read those at all; SureFlap reads most of them (not 10-digit codes starting 000, 010 or 020) and also sells an RFID collar tag for cats it cannot read.
Check before you buy: the chip number is on the vaccination card, the adoption paperwork, or any vet can scan it for free. If it is 15 digits, both brands work. If it is anything else, check the number against Sure Petcare's compatibility list before buying the SureFlap, and use its RFID collar tag if the chip isn't supported.
Is the PetSafe cat flap bigger than the SureFlap?
Slightly: the PetSafe's opening is 150 x 121mm against the SureFlap's 142 x 120mm, so it is 8mm wider.
The PetSafe suits cats up to about 8kg with shoulders up to 150mm. For a Maine Coon or a big Ragdoll, neither standard flap is the right one: the SureFlap Microchip Pet Door (178 x 170mm) or the PetSafe Petporte (160 x 160mm) gives real extra room.
Do SureFlap or PetSafe flaps have a curfew or an app?
Not the standard models: both have a manual 4-way lock only, and the only app-controlled flap of the two brands is the SureFlap Connect, which needs the Sure Petcare Hub.
For a timed curfew without an app, the SureFlap Microchip Pet Door has one built in, and the PetSafe Petporte has an optional night mode. PetSafe sells no app-connected flap in the UK.
How long do SureFlap and PetSafe batteries last?
Both makers quote up to 12 months from four AA batteries in their standard flaps, and Sure's manual says typically at least six, depending on how busy the flap is.
PetSafe quotes up to 12 months. Sure gives "up to 12 months" on the product page and "typically at least 6 months" in the manual. The Connect flap is rated at up to 6 months. The PetSafe flap has a low-battery indicator.
SureFlap: the models
SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap
The standard choice and the one most fitters carry. It only reads on the way in, so any animal can leave, and it has a 4-way manual lock but no timer. It is one of the most-reviewed cat flaps on Amazon UK. The 142mm opening is fine for most cats; very large cats should look at the Pet Door.
SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap Connect
Adds a phone app through the Sure Petcare Hub, which plugs into your router by cable. You get timed curfews, remote locking, a log of who came in and out, and per-cat exit permissions. Reviewers' complaints: curfew times apply to all cats rather than one cat at a time, and some owners report that the clock did not change to British Summer Time on its own. Sure says it supports the Hub with security updates for two years from purchase. The Connect flap was out of stock on Sure's own UK shop on 28 September 2026, though retailers had it.
SureFlap DualScan
Scans on the way out as well as in, so you can let one cat out and keep another in, without paying for the Hub. Set-up is done with buttons on the flap. It has no timer.
SureFlap Microchip Pet Door
The large version, for Maine Coons, big Ragdolls and small dogs. Unlike the cat flap, it has a timed curfew without the app. Needs a bigger cut-out (207 x 234mm).
PetSafe: the models
PetSafe Microchip Cat Flap
The direct rival to the standard SureFlap, at the same price. It stores more cats (40), has a slightly wider opening (150mm) and a low-battery indicator, and suits cats up to about 8kg with shoulders up to 150mm. The catch is chip support: 15-digit FDX-B only. Like the SureFlap it reads entry only and has no timer.
PetSafe Petporte Smart Flap
Still sold on PetSafe's UK shop. Its 160 x 160mm opening is bigger than any standard flap here (only the SureFlap Pet Door is larger), and it has an optional night mode and a beep when the cat comes in, and it comes with a UK power supply. It stores fewer cats (25) than the others and reads 15-digit chips only, and at twice the price of the standard flaps it is hard to recommend unless the opening size is the deciding factor.
A third option: the Cat Mate Elite with timer (about £80) has a built-in curfew timer and a screen showing where each cat is, but stores only 9 cats and lets any cat out. It is the only flap here whose maker states it self-lines doors up to 100mm thick. Check the Cat Mate Elite on Amazon
How much does it cost to fit a microchip cat flap?
About £100 to £160 fitted in a uPVC, wooden or composite door including a standard flap, from £180 in glass, and £270 or more through an external wall.
| Where | Standard flap, fitted | Large flap, fitted | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| uPVC door panel | £100 | £130 | Fitting only, your flap: about £60 to £120 |
| Wooden door | £120 | £130 | Easiest DIY job; fitting only from about £60 |
| Composite door | £160 | £190 | Thick doors may need tunnel extenders |
| Glass door (new sealed unit) | £180 to £320 | £250 or more | Toughened glass cannot be cut on site; a new unit is made with the hole |
| Swap glass for a uPVC panel | £180 | £250 | Often cheaper than new glass |
| External wall | £270 | £450 | Needs a wall liner |
Door and wall figures are Checkatrade's July 2026 cost guide (materials plus labour). Glass figures combine Checkatrade with a North West installer's published prices (single-glazed £280, double-glazed £320, triple-glazed £380, each including a new unit, the flap and fitting). Fitting-only figures from the same installer. Expect travel charges outside a fitter's area and 1 to 2 weeks' lead time for glass. Prices checked September 2026.
Before booking, measure the door thickness. Both brands' tunnels are about 70mm deep; beyond that you need extenders (Sure's are 50mm each, £9).
Verdict by situation
| Your situation | Buy |
|---|---|
| One or two cats, 15-digit chips, standard door | Either standard flap; SureFlap if you might add a collar tag later |
| Older, imported or rescue cat with an unusual chip | SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap |
| You want to see who is in and set curfews from your phone | SureFlap Connect and Hub |
| One indoor cat and one outdoor cat | SureFlap DualScan |
| Large breed | SureFlap Microchip Pet Door |
| Curfew timer but no app, on a budget | Cat Mate Elite with timer |