Some links on this page are Amazon affiliate links. If you buy through them CatBasket may earn a small commission, and the price you pay does not change. Prices move daily; the figures here were checked in September 2026.
Best Automatic Litter Box UK 2026: Self-Cleaning Boxes Compared
The best automatic litter box in the UK is the Litter-Robot 4 (about £699) if you can pay for it, and the Petkit PuraMax 2 (about £500) if you use tofu or mixed litter. The cheapest self-cleaning option worth buying is the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic at about £156, but its refill trays cost more than ordinary litter.
Prices checked 28 September 2026 at the manufacturers' UK stores and UK retailers.
- Most proven: Litter-Robot 4, about £699, 2-year warranty and a 90-day trial.
- For tofu or mixed litter: Petkit PuraMax 2, about £500 to £600.
- Mid-price with an app: PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin, about £400.
- Lowest upfront cost: PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic, about £156 plus about £28 a tray.
How we research this: we have not lab-tested these machines. The details come from the manufacturers' UK product pages and manuals, UK retailer listings and the pattern of customer reviews, and we say which is which.
How does a self-cleaning litter box work?
After your cat leaves, a sensor waits a few minutes and then a motor sifts the used litter, dropping clumps into a sealed drawer and leaving clean litter behind.
There are two designs. Globe or drum models (Litter-Robot, Petkit) rotate the whole chamber through a sieve. Rake models (the PetSafe Crystal range) drag a comb across a tray of crystal litter and push waste into a covered trough at one end. All the machines on this page plug into the mains, so place them near a socket.
Are automatic litter boxes safe for cats?
The current models from established brands are, because weight and motion sensors stop the cycle while a cat is inside, and the drum models state a minimum cat weight that rules out small kittens.
- Litter-Robot 4: cats from 1.36kg to 11.3kg. Litter-Robot says kittens under 1.36kg should use it in manual mode, where it only cycles when you press the button.
- Petkit PuraMax 2: cats from 1.5kg to 10kg, with 11 safety sensors listed by Petkit.
- PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin: cats up to 11kg.
The worry is cheap unbranded machines, which often have fewer sensors and no UK support. If an unbranded model does not state its sensors, do not buy it.
The best automatic litter boxes in the UK
| Model | Price (Sept 2026) | Litter | Cat weight | App |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Litter-Robot 4 | About £699 | Clay clumping only | 1.36 to 11.3kg | Yes |
| Petkit PuraMax 2 | About £500 to £600 | Clay, tofu or mixed clumping | 1.5 to 10kg | Yes |
| PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin | About £400 | Clumping | Up to 11kg | Yes |
| PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic | About £156 | PetSafe crystal trays only | Not stated | No |
Prices from the Litter-Robot, Petkit and PetSafe UK stores, 28 September 2026. Amazon UK and other retailers sometimes undercut them.
1. Litter-Robot 4: the most proven
The Litter-Robot is on its fourth generation, and it has the longest track record of the machines here. The UK store ships from Birmingham with a UK power supply, a 2-year warranty and a 90-day home trial (you pay the return postage), which takes most of the risk out of the price. The app shows how full the drawer is and logs each cat's weight on every visit, which helps you notice a cat that is peeing more often or losing weight.
It needs standard-weight clay clumping litter. Litter-Robot says wood pellets, paper and non-clumping litters will not work, and that plant-based litters typically do not sift properly. It is also big: allow the full 56 x 69cm of floor, plus room above for the globe.
2. Petkit PuraMax 2: best for tofu or mixed litter
Most self-cleaning boxes are built around clay. Petkit lists clay, tofu and mixed clumping litters for the PuraMax 2, with two sifters for different grain sizes, so it is the one to look at if you have moved away from clay and do not want to go back. Petkit says the 7L bin lasts up to 15 days for one cat. The app recognises individual cats and sends an alert if a cat has not used the box for 24 hours.
Petkit's own UK store had it at £499.99 against a £599.99 list price when we checked. Check the warranty terms with whoever you buy from, as they differ between Petkit's store and third-party sellers.
3. PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin: mid-price with an app
PetSafe's newer box uses a spinning sifter and ordinary clumping litter rather than the company's crystal trays. PetSafe describes it as low-profile, 30.5cm off the floor, which suits older cats, and PetSafe says the drawer holds up to two weeks of clumps. The app tracks weight and visits, and needs 2.4GHz Wi-Fi.
4. PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Classic: lowest upfront cost
A rake sweeps waste into a covered trough, and the crystals soak up urine. When a tray is used up you lid it and bin it, so you never handle loose litter. PetSafe advertises up to 30 days per tray for one cat.
The catch is the refills. Bought singly they cost about £28 each, which is over £300 a year for one cat and much more than a bag of clumping litter. Multi-packs bring the price down. There is no app and no weight tracking.
Do automatic litter boxes need special litter?
Most need clumping litter, and some need one particular kind, so check before you buy.
The Litter-Robot 4 takes clay clumping litter only. The PuraMax 2 takes clay, tofu or mixed clumping litter. The ScoopFree Crystal models only work with PetSafe's crystal trays, which is how PetSafe keeps the machine cheap. If your cat is used to wood pellets or non-clumping litter, move it onto clumping litter in its old tray first, a quarter at a time over a couple of weeks. Our cat litter guide compares the types.
Do automatic litter boxes smell?
Usually less than a manual tray, because clumps go into a sealed drawer a few minutes after each visit instead of sitting in the open until you scoop.
They still smell if the drawer is left too long, the carbon filter or deodoriser is past its life, or the litter is cheap and crumbles instead of clumping. Empty the drawer when the app says so, and give the whole unit a proper wash every few weeks, as you would a tray.
Are automatic litter boxes good for multiple cats?
Yes, within limits: Litter-Robot rates the LR4 for up to four cats and Petkit sells the PuraMax 2 for multi-cat homes, but the drawer fills faster and you empty it more often.
A machine does not replace spare trays: PDSA advises at least two trays even for one cat, so keep an ordinary tray somewhere else in the house. Weight tracking is most useful here, because it tells you which cat used the box.
Will my cat use an automatic litter box?
Most cats will if you introduce it slowly, with the motor switched off at first and the old tray still available.
Fill it with the litter your cat already uses, leave it next to the old tray in manual mode, and only turn on automatic cleaning once your cat is going in without hesitation. Remove the old tray last. If a nervous cat is frightened by the first cycle, set the longest delay so the machine never moves while the cat is nearby. For a rescue cat still settling in, wait until it is confident in the house (see reducing cat stress).